Sorry for the silence last month! I’d been hoping to release my newest essay along with a major update on the series, but alas, the series is taking longer than expected to get rolling. This is mostly a logisitics issue. Rest assured the series is still on (pilot should be done next week-ish), and as we approach the release date, I will give you all a big fat post.

But this essay just will not wait any longer! I’ve been writing this one for a while, because I wanted to make sure I got it right. At this point, it’s as good as it’s going to be. Thus, I give you The Greater Dictator, my analysis of Charlie Chaplin’s ending speech in The Great Dictator. I believe this speech is a brilliant text mostly misunderstood or ignored, because people just see it as anti-fascist rhetoric. While this is of course true, there is SO MUCH MORE going on in this speech that I just had to put it all down in writing. If you haven’t seen the film, go watch it; if you’ve already seen it, watch it again so you know what I’m talking about.

Hope you like it! If you do, be sure to let me know. And if you’re interested in more of my musings, check out the Essays section of this website.

And for those who want more moving images (with sound!), I’ll have an update on the series soon. I am excited.

-Nick

